August 10, 2022

UEFA announces changes in champions, Europa Leagues

March 27, 2018

On Tuesday, UEFA confirmed changes that will take place in next season’s Champions League and Europa League, including a fourth substitute in extra-time and new scheduling arrangements.

The changes were recommended by the Executive Committee in Bratislava in February and by the Annual meeting of the International Football Association Board (IFAB) on March 3, and could also affect player registrations after the group stages.

All new rules will be in place for the 2018/19 season in the Champions League, Europa League and UEFA Super Cup.

The first major change will see a fourth substitute allowed in extra-time for knock-out ties.

In cup finals of all three competitions, coaches will be allowed a squad of 23 players, rather than 18 as is the case for other games, meaning that coaches will have as many as 12 substitutes to choose from in their biggest game of the season.

All knock-out ties will be played at 21:00 CET, slightly later than the current 20:45, but during the group stages two games from each matchday will take place at 18:55.

For the last game of each group stage, all games will be played at the same time.

In the Europa League, games will be split between 18:55 and 21:00 kick-offs until the quarter-finals, when all games will be played at 21:00.

The European Super Cup will kick-off at 21:00, starting off on August 15 when it is held at Lillekula Stadium in Tallinn, Estonia.

After the group stages of both the Champions League and Europa League, clubs will be able to register three new players without any restrictions.

“This measure is in line with the regulatory situation which exists in different national leagues and does not put any restrictions on eligibility for competitions of players registered for a new club during the winter transfer market,” said UEFA.

Sleeve patch for the champions

To match the Champions League, teams who have won the Europa League (or its predecessor the UEFA Cup) three times in a row or a minimum of five times can wear a sleeve patch to show they have been champions on several occasions.

The only side who will have the right to do so next season would be Sevilla, who have won the tournament five times (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015 and 2016).

%d bloggers like this: