June 10, 2023

Liverpool win Premier League after 30-year wait

June 25, 2020
Liverpool crowned Carabao Champions

Jurgen Klopp’s side, Liverpool were officially declared champions after Manchester City lost 2-1 to Chelsea at Stamford Bridge on Thursday night.

The Reds’ first league title since 1990 was confirmed after Pep Guardiola’s side failed to win at Stamford Bridge.

Christian Pulisic’s goal had given Chelsea to lead before a wonderful Kevin De Bruyne sparked hopes of a comeback, but Fernandinho’s late red card led to a coolly converted penalty to win the game – and gift Liverpool league glory.

ALSO READ: It’s Liverpool forever ―Alex-Arnold

With seven games remaining, it is the earliest any side has ever won the Premier League title, with Jurgen Klopp’s men surpassing the achievements of Manchester United in 2000-01 and Manchester City’s ‘centurions’ of 2017-18. Both of those teams clinched the league with five games left.

%d bloggers like this: