October 24, 2021

NCC Tennis League: Team Oluyole host VGC Lions in debut game

August 11, 2017

Team Oluyole of Oyo state will tomorrow make their debut in the 2017 season of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) Tennis League as they play host to VGC Lions of Lagos from 10am.

It will be recalled, that Team Oluyole last month in the play-offs decided in Lagos defeated Team Police College of Ikeja 3-2 and Team Anambra of Onitsha 3-1 to win the last available ticket to the 2017 NCC Tennis season.

According to the Chief Sports Officer, Oyo State Sports Council, Mrs Oyewusi Abosede, Team Oluyole will play their first game of the season on Saturday [tomorrow] at the tennis courts of the Lekan Salami Sports Complex, Ibadan, adding that games will also be played on Sunday also from 10am.

Oyewusi stated that logistics have been put in place to make the debut of Team Oluyole in the NCC League a memorable one.

“The players are in high spirits and can’t wait for the match against VGC Lions. The qualification of the team marks a milestone in the history of tennis in the state as we are participating in the NCC League for the first time. We are hoping for a successful start on Saturday in the league,” she added.

Meanwhile, Team Oluyole being handled by the duo of Tirimisiyu Ganiyu and Faboyinde Adepeju will parade Wasiu Ibrahim, Wale Samson, Salami Ganiyu, Ismaila Adesina, Okechukwu Michael and Kunle Bamidele this season with female players Colleen Orji and Bukola Popoola while Adegboyega Kaosarat serves as alternate player.

Also in the Blue group with Team Oluyole are Team NSCDC of Abuja; Team Kalotari of Port Harcourt; Team Muller of Lagos and Team Optiweb of Ilorin.

According to the International Tennis Academy (ITA), the organisers of the NCC Tennis League, the White Group is made up of title holders Team Offikwu of Kaduna; Team Ndoma-Egba; Team Goshen of Ilorin; Team CBN Futures of Lagos; Team Oyetade of Ekiti and Team Tech Vibe of Jos.

The first two teams in each group qualify for semi-finals and on to the finals scheduled to hold in December this year.

The winner of the NCC Tennis League will earn N7million as prize money as N5million awaits the runner up, while the third and fourth placed teams will pocket N3million and N2million respectively aside N500,000 to be given to each club as logistic support.

%d bloggers like this: