March 27, 2023

CAF award: Salah, Mane, Auba make final shortlist

January 1, 2019
From left, Mohamed Salah; Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Liverpool duo, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Arsenal star, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have been confirmed as the Player of the Year finalists at the 2018 CAF Awards.

The prestigious honour, set to be awarded at a gala in Dakar, Senegal, next week will go to one of three Premier League stars after sparkling in 2018.

The final three is an exact repeat of last year’s shortlist.

Salah was last year’s winner and he followed up his 2017 achievements with another fine 12 months, breaking the Premier League’s 38-game season goals record, while leading Liverpool to the Champions League final, before ending the year on top of the league table.

ALSO READ:  Van Dijk praises Liverpool’s “scary” attacking trio

Team-mate Mane – second in 2017 – has been similarly influential in the Reds’ success, forming a devastating forward line along with Salah and Roberto Firmino, and netted in the Kiev final defeat to Real Madrid.

Salah and Mane both went to the World Cup, with Egypt and Senegal respectively, but neither made it past the group stage.

Meanwhile, 2015 Player of the Year Aubameyang hit the ground running in England after a big move from Borussia Dortmund.

The Gabon international scored 10 Premier League goals last term following his switch and, heading into Tuesday’s action, is tied with Salah and Harry Kane at the top of the scoring charts with 13 this season.

Salah and Mane were both on target as Liverpool thrashed Aubameyang’s Arsenal 5-1 on Saturday.

While both Salah and Aubameyang have both won the accolade in the recent past, no Senegalese player has been crowned African Footballer of the Year since El-Hadji Diouf won the title back in 2002.

%d bloggers like this: