October 17, 2021

Tokyo Paralympics: Ejike, Adesokan, 20 others in medal chase for Nigeria

August 25, 2021
Yakubu Adesokan, members of the nation’s powerlifters

Twenty-two athletes will be representing Team Nigeria at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics which kicked off on Tuesday at the Olympic Stadium, Tokyo.

At Rio 2016 Games in Brazil, Team Nigeria recorded their best performance, as they emerged Africa’s best team and 17th overall on the medal table with eight gold, two silver and two bronze medals.

Nigeria will participate in four events – para powerlifting, para-athletics, para-table tennis and para-rowing.

Team Nigeria’s captain, Lucy Ejike, 44, who would be featuring in her sixth Paralympics after making her debut at Sydney 2000, promised that the contingent would surpass the record at Rio 2016.

ALSO READ:  Spectators barred from Tokyo Paralympics

Speaking with Tribunesport on Tuesday afternoon, Mr Peter Nelson, Chief de Mission advised all the athletes and officials to be disciplined on and off the field.

Nelson urged them to remain focused and guard against any form of distractions.

Secretary, Para-table tennis Federation of Nigeria, Adeyeye Israel, in a chat with Tribunesport said he was sure of winning medals at the Games.

“The six athletes who are here for the Games are in high spirits and the training we had back home and Kisarasu have put us in good shape to face any level of opposition. Though, I cannot say which colour of medal, but I am sure of our team winning medals,” Adeyeye said.

ALSO READ:  Spectators barred from Tokyo Paralympics

Meanwhile, the 22 athletes who would represent Team Nigeria at the Games are as follows:

1. Flora Ugwunwa, athletics.
2. Iyiazi Njideka, athletics.
3. Lauritta Onye, athletics.
4. Nwaozu Chituru, Athletics.
5. Galadima Suwaibidu, athletics
6. Tijani Latifat, powerlifting.
7. Ejike Lucy, powerlifting.
8. Ibrahim Mujinat, powerlifting.
9. Omolayo Bose, powerlifting.
10. Obiji Lovelyn, powerlifting.
11. Oluwafemiayo Folasade, powerlifting.
12. Okpala Pauline, powerlifting.
13. Ibrahim Dauda, powerlifting.
14. Adesokan Yakubu, powerlifting.
15. Innocent Nnamdi, powerlifting.
16. Ijeoma Kingsley, rowing.
17. Fairh Obazuaye, table tennis.
18. Agunbiade Tajudeen, table tennis.
19. Olufemi Alabi Olabiyi, table tennis.
20. Ahmed Koleosho, table tennis.
21. Ogunkunle Isau, table tennis.
22. Farinoye Victor, table tennis.

%d bloggers like this: