August 3, 2020

Premiership: In the beginning

July 21, 2017

The English Premier League is the most lucrative football competition in the world. It was formed on 20 February, 1992 following the decision of clubs in the Football league First Division to break away from the former league that was founded in 1888 and take advantage of a Television rights deal.

It appears to be a great move because the deal is now worth £1 billion a year domestically, going by the 2013-14 agreement with BskyB and BT Group. It is bound to get even bigger with new contracts coming up very soon.

The League generates 2.2 billion euros per year in domestic and international TV rights. The Premier League is the most watched sports league in the world, broadcast in 212 territories to 643 million homes and a potential TV audience of 4.7 billion people. This figure is believed to be more than this when you consider the numerous viewing centres in Nigeria and other countries.

While 47 clubs have competed in the competition since inception in 1992, only six clubs have won the title. Manchester United won it more than any club, 13 times. Chelsea have won it five times, Arsenal, three times, Manchester City (2), Blackburn Rovers (1) and Leicester City (1).

The league will have two new members this season with the promotion of Brighton and Huddersfield.

TWENTY-TWO clubs started the first season in 1992-93.The first goal was scored by Brian Deane of Sheffield United in a 2-1 win against Manchester United. The Manchester club eventually emerged title winners in that season.

In 1995, the number of clubs competing in the Premier League was reduced to 20, following FIFA’s insistence that domestic leagues reduce the number of games played per season. Four teams were relegated and only two were promoted in a bid to make up the requested number of games domestic clubs play per season.


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: